McMurry University President Dr. Sandra Harper to serve on National Association of Schools and Colleges of the United Methodist Church (NASCUMC) Board

  Gary Ellison
  Thursday, January 29, 2015 12:48 PM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

McMurry University President Sandra Harper has been elected to serve on the 26-member board of the National Association of Schools and Colleges of the United Methodist Church (NASCUMC).  Her term extends through the 2017 summer meeting.

In the United States, there are 119 institutions listed by the University Senate as United Methodist-related schools, colleges, universities, medical college, and theological schools. Institutions are represented in NASCUMC by their chief executive officers.

NASCUMC is a voluntary association of schools, colleges, and universities committed to the historic and distinctive values of United Methodist-related education. NASCUMC exists:

  • To advance the work of education and scholarship in member institutions,
  • To work cooperatively with conferences, boards and agencies of The United Methodist Church to address issues of mutual concern to the Church and the Academy,
  • To work in partnership with the Church to educate students for leadership and service to the global community,
  • To foster and encourage the common good of member institutions, and
  • To strengthen the collegiality and camaraderie among member presidents, deans and heads of school.

The organization meets semiannually for professional development; study of institutional issues; and analysis of proposed legislation and guidelines that affect student aid, federal programs, institutional governance, and reporting requirements. NASCUMC cooperates with and engages in liaison relationships with other agencies of the Church and with professional societies and organizations.

Press Contact

Gary Ellison