McMurry University to honor EDICUT Student of the Year at Spring Advisory Meeting

  Gary Ellison
  Thursday, April 23, 2015 1:55 PM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

McMurry University School of Education will honor senior Leah Doughty as Education Deans of Independent Colleges and Universities in Texas (EDICUT) student of the year at the spring Advisory Board meeting Friday, April 24, 2015. 

The award is given annually to an outstanding student in the McMurry School of Education.  EDICUT presents the annual award to selected students who exhibit excellence in leadership on campus and in the community. 

Ms. Doughty is completing her student teaching at Lee Elementary in the Abilene Independent School District. She will receive a Bachelor of Science in Early Childhood Education in May.  Ms. Doughty is a member of Kappa Delta Pi and the Association of Texas Professional Educators.  She was also the first recipient of the Dr. Sandra Harper Women’s Leadership Scholarship in 2014.  She has also been named to the McMurry dean’s list for last four years.

Press Contact

Gary Ellison