McMurry University, Texas Tech School of Pharmacy Sign Early Admission Agreement

  Gary Ellison
  Tuesday, August 18, 2015 2:43 PM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

Texas Tech Signing

McMurry University’s President Dr. Sandra Harper and Dr. Quentin Smith, dean of the Texas Tech University School of Pharmacy, today signed an Early Admission Agreement that will allow McMurry students to transition to the School of Pharmacy after their junior year at McMurry.

The agreement is designed to aid in the transition of selected students from McMurry University to the Texas Tech University School of Pharmacy using their first year at the School of Pharmacy as a substitute for their senior year’s undergraduate courses.

“This means that a student saves a year’s worth of tuition. It’s not for the faint of heart, the rigor of the outlined coursework at McMurry University still fully prepares them for their transition to Pharmacy School,” said Dr. Larry Sharp, a professor of biology at McMurry. “It is a win-win for the student and it directs our most competent pre-pharmacy students towards completion of their McMurry University degree in Biochemistry or Biomedical Science and a Doctor of Pharmacy degree at Texas Tech University.”

“McMurry has always had a close relationship with the Texas Tech School of Pharmacy and many of our students have gone on to successful careers in pharmacy after graduating from Texas Tech’s program,” said Dr. Harper. “We are thrilled to have this new pathway for our students to enter the Texas Tech School of Pharmacy. It’s a great step forward for both schools.”

Press Contact

Gary Ellison