McMurry Art Professor Kathie Walker-Millar Wins State Award

  Gary Ellison
  Tuesday, October 13, 2015 10:16 AM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

McMurry University Art Professor Kathie Walker-Millar has been named the 2015 winner of the Higher Education Division Outstanding Art Educator Award from the Texas Art Education Association (TAEA).  She will receive the award during the organization’s annual meeting on November 12-14 in Galveston at the Moody Gardens Convention Center.

Walker-Millar has served as a professor of art at McMurry for 23 years and has been a member of TAEA since 1985.

TAEA’s mission is to promote quality visual arts education in Texas by promoting visual arts education as an integral part of the curriculum through professional development of knowledge and skills, representation of the art educators of Texas, service and leadership opportunities, and research and development of policies and decisions relative to practices and directions in visual arts education; to sustain and advance professional development; to encourage and promote the advancement of knowledge and skills. The organization has about 3400 active members.

Press Contact

Gary Ellison