McMurry University Honors Employees at Spring 2016 Faculty Staff Appreciation Luncheon

  Gary Ellison
  Friday, April 29, 2016 10:42 AM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

McMurry University faculty and staff were honored at the Spring 2016 Faculty Staff Appreciation Luncheon.

The Outstanding Faculty member is Dr. Robert Wallace, professor of sociology. He also has served as faculty athletic representative and sociology department chair. Dr. Wallace joined the McMurry faculty in August 1990.

“Dr Wallace has always been very active on campus – serving on numerous committees, serving as the faculty athletic representative – and this year is playing an important leadership role as co-chair of the ACE Internationalization initiative,” said Dr. James Hunt, vice president for academic affairs. “As department chair, he has engaged in efforts that have led to the Sociology being one of our fastest growing majors.”

The Outstanding Administrator is Annette Havens, coordinator of student accounts. Havens joined the McMurry staff in September 2014.

“She is genuinely concerned about the success of each individual student.  She is results-orientated and therefore concerned with positive outcomes for our students,” said Lisa Williams, vice president for financial affairs. “She also does an excellent job on the phone and in person educating students on financial responsibility.”

The Outstanding Staff Member is Renee Scott, coordinator of Financial Affairs and assistant to Human Resources. She joined the McMurry staff in June 2008.

“Her organizational skills are extraordinary as well as her ability to multi-task and go from one area to another; she provides support to so many areas on campus from benefits to new employee orientations,training, background checks for summer camps, faculty hires, adjunct hires, non-faculty hires, trustees, and many university committees, ------always in a professional and positive manner,” said Williams.  

Receiving an Exemplary Service Award this year was Amanda Cokonougher, administrative assistant in the Religious Life office since September, 2014. 

She previously worked in the Admission Office. During the changeover to a new chaplaincy this year, Cokonougher has been critical to the transition of leadership and the management of the office, said Chaplain Jeff Lust. “She has truly been a “go-to” person that generally has the information needed and, if not, will find it quickly.  She has anticipated various dates and events and expenses and kept me informed.”

Faculty and Staff receiving service awards include:   

5 years: 

Mark Posival, Stephanie Scott, Cristina Dita

10 years:    

Gae Lynn McInroe, Ann-Marie Lopez, Wayne Keith, Edward Donnay, Dee Ann Curry, Lanita Runyon, Dale Pistole           

15 years:    

Joel Whittemore, Cole Thompson, Cynthia Rutledge-Ferguson, Tina Wright, Johnny Tijerina, Mark Hathorn, Ed Conant, Craig Roberts, Melanie Long

20 years:     

Fernando Jaramillo, Richard De La Rosa, Paul Fabrizio, Richard Brozovic, Jerri Gazaille                                     

25 years:      

Johnna Bolden, Kathy Denslow, Rachael Bein

35 years:     

Gary Shanafelt 


Annette Havins, Dr. Ssandra Harper, Renee Scott, Amanda Cokonougher        

Press Contact

Gary Ellison