Grant Teaff Named 2016 NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award Recipient

  Dave Beyer
  Wednesday, May 4, 2016 11:13 AM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

The National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) announced today that College Football Hall of Fame coach Grant Teaff '56, who was recently named Executive Director Emeritus of the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA), has been named the recipient of the 2016 NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award. He will be honored at the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City.

Teaff was the head coach at McMurry, returning to guide his Alma Mater’s gridiron program from 1960-65. He was an assistant coach for McMurry from 1957-59, as well. Teaff also played for McM two seasons, earning All-Texas Conference honors as a tackle his junior and senior years. He also served as a team captain. Teaff went on to a 20-year career as the head coach at Baylor University, 

“Grant Teaff has had a profound impact on college football during six decades of service to the game,” said NFF President and CEO Steve Hatchell. “From the players he coached at McMurry, Angelo State and Baylor, to the countless coaches he helped mentor through his work at AFCA and his many contributions to the game of football through his work as an NFF Board Member, he has truly helped shape some of our country’s brightest leaders. We are honored to recognize his important contributions to football at our Annual Awards Dinner in December.”

First presented in 1974, the NFF Outstanding Contribution to Amateur Football Award provides national recognition to those whose efforts to support the NFF and its goals have been local in nature or who have made significant contributions to the game of football either to the manner in which it is played and coached or to the manner in which it is enjoyed by spectators. Teaff becomes the 41st recipient of the award.

Teaff served as the executive director of the AFCA from January 1994 until stepping into an emeritus role in February 2016. In his 22 years as executive director, he moved the AFCA office from Orlando, Fla., to Waco, Texas, increased the membership and expanded the Board of Trustees so that all AFCA members would have representation.

Teaff oversaw the expansion of AFCA’s All-America teams to represent all levels of play and the beginning of the AFCA Good Works Teams, which honors football student-athletes for exemplary community service. He also is responsible for creating the American Football Coaches Foundation to raise money for the education and personal development of every member, and he continued to expand the AFCA Convention into the largest annual gathering of coaches in the nation.

Teaff has served on the Board of Directors of the National Football Foundation since 1994, and he has remained a prominent supporter of the NFF’s mission of Building Leaders Through Football. He also serves on the boards of USA Football and the National Operating Committee on Standards for Athletic Equipment.

Teaff played football in Texas during the 1950s at Snyder High School, Angelo State (then San Angelo Junior College) and McMurry University (then McMurry College). He was a center and team captain at all three levels.

“I fell in love with football,” Teaff said. “At age 14, I said my life goal was to be a football coach.”

In 1960, he became the head coach at McMurry, where he would spend six years before becoming an assistant at Texas Tech from 1966-68 and the head coach at Angelo State (Texas) from 1969-71. However, it was his time as the head coach at Baylor from 1972-92 that would earn him national recognition.

When he arrived, the Bears were considering dropping out of Division I football, after winning only seven games in a five-year span. Teaff persuaded the university to hold the course, and he would lead Baylor to 128 wins in 21 seasons. He earned Southwest Conference Coach of the Year honors six times, and he received National Coach of the Year accolades from AFCA and the Football Writers Association of America. Teaff’s teams won two Southwest Conference titles, and they appeared in eight bowl games.

Teaff’s outstanding career as a college coach has placed him in eight Halls of Fame, including the College Football Hall of Fame and Texas Sports Hall of Fame. In 2006, he was honored with the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award, one of the highest honors a coach can receive from the AFCA. Teaff coached College Football Hall of Famer Rod Cason at Angelo State and Hall of Famers Thomas Everett and Mike Singletary at Baylor.

Teaff will be honored at the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner on Dec. 6 at the Waldorf Astoria in New York City. He will accept his award alongside the yet-to-be announced recipients of the other NFF Major Awards, including the NFF Chris Schenkel Award for excellence in broadcasting, the NFF John L. Toner Award for excellence in athletics administration, the NFF Gold Medal and the NFF Distinguished American Award.

In addition to the presentation of the NFF Major Awards, the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner will provide the stage for the induction of the 2016 College Football Hall of Fame Class; the presentation of the 2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Awards, presented by Fidelity Investments; and the bestowing of the 27th NFF William V. Campbell Trophy to the nation’s top football scholar-athlete.

This year’s College Football Hall of Fame Class includes: Marlin Briscoe (Nebraska Omaha), Derrick Brooks (Florida State), Tom Cousineau (Ohio State), Randall Cunningham (UNLV), Troy Davis (Iowa State), William Fuller (North Carolina), Bert Jones (LSU), Tim Krumrie (Wisconsin), Pat McInally (Harvard), Herb Orvis (Colorado), Bill Royce (Ashland [Ohio]), Mike Utley (Washington State), Scott Woerner (Georgia), Rod Woodson (Purdue) and coaches Bill Bowes (New Hampshire) and Frank Girardi (Lycoming [Pa.]). The 2016 NFF National Scholar-Athlete Class, presented by Fidelity Investments, will be announced this fall, and the winner of the Campbell Trophy will be announced live at the event on Dec. 6.

For ticket information regarding the 59th NFF Annual Awards Dinner, please contact NFF Director of External Relations Will Rudd at 972.556.1000 or

Grant Teaff

Press Contact

Gary Ellison