McMurry President Dr. Sandra Harper Elected to United Methodist University Senate

  Gary Ellison
  Monday, August 15, 2016 1:15 PM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

At its annual summer meeting, the National Association of Schools and Colleges of The United Methodist Church elected McMurry University President Dr. Sandra Harper to the University Senate for the 2017-2020 quadrennium.   

The senate is composed of twenty-seven voting members who, at the time of election, are actively engaged in the work of education through employment in an educational institution and are fitted by training and experience for the technical work of evaluating educational institutions. Approval by the senate is a prerequisite to institutional claim of affiliation with The United Methodist Church. To qualify for affiliation with The United Methodist Church, institutions must maintain appropriate academic accreditation. 119 institutions across the country currently are listed with The University Senate as having an affiliation with The United Methodist Church.

The University Senate establishes the criteria that must be met by schools, colleges, universities, and theological schools to achieve and retain listing as institutions affiliated with The United Methodist Church and supports the development of institutions whose aims are to address and whose programs reflect significant educational, cultural, social, and human issues in a manner reflecting the values held in common by the institutions and the Church.  The University Senate also provides an effective review process to ensure that institutions listed by the University Senate and qualifying for Church support have institutional integrity, well-structured programs, sound management, and clearly defined Church relationships.  The senate establishes effective annual reporting procedures that will provide the data necessary to complete its review of the institutional viability and program integrity of member institutions.  

Press Contact

Gary Ellison