McMurry University Signs Agreement with SMU’s Perkins School of Theology

  Gary Ellison
  Tuesday, January 30, 2018 8:54 AM
  Archives 2017 - 2018

Abilene, TX

McMurry University and SMU’s Perkins School of Theology will sign a memorandum of understanding (MOU) which will allow McMurry University students in ministerial vocations to receive preferred consideration and early acceptance to Perkins.

McMurry University President Dr. Sandra S. Harper and Dr. James W. Hunt, vice president for academic affairs at McMurry will join Dr. Craig C. Hill, dean of the Perkins School of Theology in signing the MOU at 11 a.m. Wednesday in Carleton Chapel.

McMurry University and SMU share a common heritage within the United Methodist Church and are committed to the training of students for ministry, the MOU states. Both institutions seek to create an efficient, streamlined path from undergraduate study at McMurry to graduate study at Perkins.

“Perkins School of Theology is one of the very best institutions in the country for training people in the practice of Christian ministry,” said McMurry Religion Professor Dr. John B. Miller. “I’m really excited about what this agreement means for our students, for our Department of Religion and Philosophy, and for the McMurry community.”

The agreement also states that McMurry and Perkins will continue to develop a deepening relationship

which will encourage new opportunities for future cooperation between the two schools.

Press Contact

Gary Ellison