McMurry University Physics Students Win National Recognition

  Alaisha Montanez
  Friday, December 6, 2019 5:13 PM
  Archives 2018 - 2019

Abilene, TX

McMurry Students Receive National Recognition 

The McMurry University chapter of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) has won an Outstanding Chapter Award from the SPS National Office. This is the first time the chapter has been recognized for its excellence as a top-tier student-led physical sciences organization, a designation given to fewer than 15 percent of all SPS chapters at colleges and universities in the United States and internationally.

The SPS is a professional association designed for students and membership is open to anyone interested in physics and related fields. SPS operates within the American Institute of Physics (AIP), an umbrella organization for professional physical science societies.

The SPS chapter at McMurry is advised by Dr. Tikhon Bykov, Dr. Wayne Keith and Dr. Timothy Renfro and is led by student officers Joseph Watson, Physics, '21, Mason Mireles, Physics, '19, and Aaron Herring, Physics, ‘20. 

This recognition is a high honor for McMurry and for science achievement at the higher education level in the state of Texas.

SPS chapters are evaluated on their level of interaction with the campus community, the professional physics community, the public, and with SPS national programs. The Outstanding Chapter Award recognizes high levels of outreach as well as unique approaches to fulfilling the mission of SPS to “help students transform themselves into contributing members of the professional community.”

The McMurry University SPS chapter was recognized as outstanding for it efforts in a number of areas last year, including student trips and academic conference participation, student-alumni interactions, and the student-led Cassini Memorial project.

Press Contact

Alaisha Montanez '11