Request information

Visit Campus

Facebook McMurry on Facebook

Twitter McMurry on Twitter

Instagram McMurry on Instagram 

View More of McMurry Social

  • Alumni


•McMurry University Model UN delegates, representing Timor-Leste at the 2014 National Model UN conference in New York City, won Honorable Mention. This award is extremely prestigious, as 196 delegations (every country and three Non-Governmental Organizations) participated. McMurry student winner are from left to right, (seated) Douglas Alldredge, Salome Block, Evelyn Gonzalez, Laetitia Doria, Ashleigh Hoover, (standing) Matthew Brown, Joshua Brooks (Head Delegate), Megan Rausch, Kirk Hodel, and Keith Wagner.

• Honors student Candace Boehm presented “An Exegetical Overview of Anorexia Nervosa” at the annual meeting of the Great Plains Regional Honors Council at the University of Arkansas-Fort Smith on March 29.

• Senior Religion major Amanda “Maggie” Duke participated in the Texas Regional Festival of Young Preachers held at ACU on March 28-29.

• McMurry senior Joey Gonzales participated in the inaugural Intercollegiate Band for the Southwest Division of the College Band Directors National Association. The selected group of students met during the biennial conference at the University of Arkansas from March 20-22, and presented the final concert of the convention on Saturday, March 22. Members were selected from undergraduate and graduate music students from Arkansas, Colorado, Kansas, Missouri, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Texas. Joey was the only student selected from any school in west Texas.

• As part of their Positive Psychology course, 24 McMurry University students engaged in a service-learning project with the intellectually disabled clients of Disability Resources, Inc. (DRI) of Abilene. The students planned and led activities for the DRI “Folks” on two mornings last week, including t-shirt tie-dyeing, sports, games, Mary Kay makeovers, music, bubble blowing, and making necklaces and bracelets. These students were great ambassadors, showing the caring spirit of McMurry University in the community: Amber Allen, Annabelle Argueta, Logan Burkham, Gabby Camacho, Bridget Camarillo, Lewis Copeland, Kayla Cox, Joel DePorte, Ashley Hesseltine, Kayla Hines, Donald Matthews, Jessica McGuire, Morgan Murry, James Ness, Matthew Newby, Spenser Patterson, Greg Pinckney, Everton Pinnock, Marcus Romero, Megan Rowland, Mitchell Russell, Rachel Schalk, Thalia Silva, Lane, Watson, and Michael Wegener.

• McMurry University history majors achieved top honors at the annual meeting of the Texas State Historical Association in San Antonio. Besting their peers from universities and colleges from across the state, Katie Hinton and Ashley Dandridge brought home first- and second-place awards in the upper division of the TSHA’s C. M. Caldwell Memorial Awards for Excellence in History.

Hinton earned a first-place certificate and a $400 award for her paper entitled, “Time in Stitches: Quilting in Floyd County.” Dandridge secured the second-place award and a $300 award for her paper, “Black Education in Hamlin, Texas: Early Years to Integration.” Both women are also inductees of Phi Alpha Theta, the national history honor society. Ashley Mayer, the president of the McMurry chapter, attended the annual conference of Texas historians and was present as her classmates accepted their prizes. Stephen L. Hardin, McMurry history professor and Phi Alpha Theta sponsor, also attended the award ceremony.

Hinton and Dandridge wrote their award-winning monographs as part of the History Department’s Historical Methods and Senior Seminar courses, co-taught by professors Stephen L. Hardin and Robert T. Maberry. These awards are a testament to the efficacy of the department’s celebrated writing program, which devotes an entire semester to teaching the techniques of historical research and another to scholarly writing.

The achievements of these young women are all the more impressive when one considers that the TSHA meeting was the first scholarly conference they had ever attended.