Request information

Visit Campus

Facebook McMurry on Facebook

Twitter McMurry on Twitter

Instagram McMurry on Instagram 

View More of McMurry Social

  • Alumni

RICHARDSON, Texas – McMurry University had seven of its student-athletes recognized by the American Southwest Conference as a part of its Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Team for winter/spring sports for the 2011-12 campaign.

Overall, 101 student-athletes from ASC men’s basketball, women’s basketball, baseball, men’s golf, women’s golf, softball, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track and field and women’s track and field were named to the Distinguished Scholar-Athlete Team.

The honor, in its fifth academic year, recognizes student-athletes that achieve a higher level of academic achievement (a 3.20 grade-point average or better) while competing as a starter or important reserve on their team. From that list – limited to one nominee per school in each ASC championship sport – the sports information directors from the conference’s 16 member institutions vote on a Distinguished Scholar-Athlete from each sport.

Those honored from McMurry included: M.J. Vickers (Jr., women’s basketball), Matt Thompson (Sr., baseball), Kelly Green (Jr., women’s golf), Preston Steblein (So., men’s tennis), Hilary Stone (Sr., women’s tennis), Zachary Frazier (So., men’s track) and Chelsea Martinez (Sr., women’s track).