Request information

Visit Campus

Facebook McMurry on Facebook

Twitter McMurry on Twitter

Instagram McMurry on Instagram 

View More of McMurry Social

  • Alumni

ABILENE, Texas – Five McMurry University faculty members have been chosen to receive the Sam Taylor Fellowship for the 2011-2012 academic year. Given annually by the General Board of Higher Education and Ministry of the United Methodist Church, the Fellowships are for research projects or continuing education. Recipients of the award and their plans for the funding are:

Christopher Andrews will be completing doctoral work at Texas Tech. The funds will be used for the final stages of his dissertation as he works on a PhD in Technical Communication and Rhetoric at Texas Tech University.

Ann-Marie Lopez will be using the Fellowship funds to complete her doctoral studies. She plans to complete her dissertation and defend it in March 2013.

Dr. Hyunshun Shin is working on synthesizing proposed compounds and evaluating the reduction of bacterial growth. The results of these studies are expected to develop new potential antibiotics.

Dr. Kathy Hall will be using the award to purchase supplies for her students to use in tutoring the McMurry Fifth Grade Math/Science during their after school math club. Her research investigates the effects of direct work with elementary students on the development of teacher proficiencies and confidence in our pre-service teachers.

Dr. Mark Waters will use the award to learn the Hindi language in order to facilitate the teaching of McMurry religion and servant leadership courses in collaboration with St. John English School in Aurangabad, India and to conduct qualitative research on the relationship between Christians and people of other faith traditions in India.

The will of the late Sam Taylor set aside funds to be used for continuing education and development for faculty members of United Methodist-related colleges and schools in Texas. These grants may be used for graduate study or post-graduate research. Funds are limited and the fellowships are competitive. The Division of Higher Education of the United Methodist General Board of Higher Education and Ministry administers the endowment.