McMurry Announces 2015 Hall of Honor Class

  Dave Beyer
  Wednesday, May 20, 2015 7:29 AM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX

McMurry University Athletics has announced its Hall of Honor “Class of 2015,” set for induction on Friday, June 26 at 6 p.m. in Kimbrell Arena.  Four individuals – the late P.E. Shotwell (Athletics Director), Brad Parris (track & field), Lyndsay Llewellyn Baker (volleyball) and Ryan Snyder (baseball) – are set for induction, as well as the 1953 football team. Additionally, alumnae and longtime booster Mary Esther Bynum will receive the Bob and Clara Brown Award for support and contributions to the McMurry Athletics program.

“We have a tremendous group being honored,” McM Director of Athletics Sam Ferguson said of this year’s induction class. “They represent a great cross section of the programs, as well as the generations, of McMurry University Athletics.  I’m looking forward to what should be a memorable evening of recollection and recognition with these McMurry legends.”

Those interested in attending the event may purchase tickets on-line at:  To receive more information, and to reserve a spot via phone, call (325) 793-4631.

The following are short biographies for each of the 2015 McMurry Athletics Hall of Honor inductees:

*P.E. SHOTWELL  – Shotwell served as the McMurry Director of Athletics  for 13 years (1956-1969), as well as directing the school’s physical education program. Shotwell’s tenure at McMurry came after a long and storied 34-year prep coaching career in Texas. He has previously been honored by the Texas Sports Writers Association, the Texas High School Coaches Association, the NAIA and the Texas Sports Hall of Fame. Additionally, the city of Abilene’s public stadium is named in his honor. Among Shotwell’s  many accomplishments at McM was the hiring of coaches like Grant Teaff, Buddy Fornes and Hershel Kimbrell, to name a few.

*BRAD PARRIS (Track & Field) – Parris was instrumental in, literally, vaulting McMurry’s track and field program into the national spotlight. Parris earned a total of five NCAA Division III national championships in the pole vault, right when the track program was just being re-introduced as a sport on campus. As a matter-of-fact, Parris still holds the McM records for the pole  vault, both indoor and outdoor. He was voted the “Outstanding Performer” award at the 2000 indoor championships, also earning the ASC Male “Athlete of the Year” accolades that same season. But as high as Parris sailed over the bar in the pole vault, he set an even higher standard in the classroom where he graduated with a 4.0 grade point average. Immediately upon graduation, he became an assistant coach to legendary McM track coach Barbara Crousen, a position he held until just this past year when Parris succeeded Crousen as the head coach upon her retirement. Parris’ election also completes the McM Hall of Honor “sweep” for the family, as he joins his parents Pug and Rickey as members.

*LYNDSAY LLEWELLYN BAKER (Volleyball) – Lyndsay Llewellyn – now Baker - was a four-year standout for under Cammie Petree from 2000-03. She was a three-time ASC All-Conference and ASC All-West selection her sophomore through senior seasons. As a senior, she earned the ASC “Sportsmanship Award” from peer coaches. She also got it done in the classroom, honored three times as an ASC All-Academic Team member. Her name is still prominent in the McM record book to this day:  Season Records-  Hitting Percentage- #1 (.387 in 2002) and #6 (.322 in 2003); Blocks- #3 (155 in 2003) and #13 (106 in 2002) … Career Records- #1 in Hitting Percentage (.316); #2 in Kills (1,165); #4 in Attack Attempts (2,853); #3 in Solo Blocks (150); #5 in Assisted Blocks (217); and #3 in Total Blocks (367).

RYAN SNYDER (Baseball) – Snyder was a part of the 1996 team that re-introduced baseball to the McMurry campus and was a four-year letterman. His prowess on the mound helped the sport to finally take a firm foothold in the school’s intercollegiate athletics program. Snyder earned ABCA all-region honors as a junior and a pair of All-ASC selections, as well. He was also a three-time ASC All-Academic honoree. After graduation, Snyder spent eight seasons playing professionally in the Texas-Louisiana League, the Central League and the American Association. He holds the McMurry record for victories in a season (10) and is the McM career leader for: Wins (26); Appearance (56); Innings Pitched (313.2); Starts (49); and Complete Games (17).  He is also No. 2 in career strikeouts (205), No. 16 in won-lost percentage (.619) and No. 14 in earned run average (4.56).

*1953 FOOTBALL TEAM – 8-1-1 record … The 1953 McMurry football team, coached by Wilford Moore, was the Texas Conference tri-champs with a sterling record of 8-1-1 overall. The team’s only loss came to ACU and they tied West Texas State. Victories came over Sul Ross, Eastern New Mexico, New Mexico A&M, Midwestern University, Lamar Tech, Austin College, Howard Payne, and Texas A&I. The squad featured all-Texas Conference players Bernard Weems (G), Elroy Payne (FB), Joe Bill Fox (QB) and Tommy Watkins (E).

BOB & CLARA BROWN AWARD – Mary Esther Bynum – along with her late husband Raymon – were the consummate story of true McMurry athletics backers. They were college sweethearts while he was a member of the football squad in the late 1940’s and, after graduating, remained close the program. To this day, Mary Esther is the proverbial “triple threat” when it comes to supporting McMurry Athletics:  She gives of herself financially; she gives of herself in terms of time by frequently attending games both home and away, and; she gives of herself by providing morale and emotional support with a kind word and her ever-present smile. Mary Esther also has the distinction of having attended both of McMurry’s last two football bowl games:  the 1949 Oleander Bowl in Galveston, Texas and the 2012 C.H.A.M.P.S. Heart of Texas Bowl…63 years apart! 

Press Contact

Gary Ellison