Former McMurry Player & Coach Grant Teaff Receives Prestigious Honor

  Dave Beyer
  Thursday, December 18, 2014 8:14 AM
  Archives 2014 - 2015

Abilene, TX


Grant Teaff ‘56, McMurry University alumnus and current Executive Director of the American Football Coaches Association, received the Contributions to College Football Award as a part of the recent College Football Awards broadcast on ESPN. 

Teaff, who went on to a 20-year career as the head coach at Baylor University, cut his teeth as a head coach at McMurry, returning to guide his Alma Mater’s gridiron program from 1960-65. He was an assistant coach for McMurry from 1957-59, as well.

Teaff also played for McM two seasons, earning All-Texas Conference honors as a tackle his junior and senior years.  He served as a team captain.

“I am deeply honored to receive the NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award,” Teaff said. “My simple goal for 37 years as a coach was to make a difference. Making a difference has remained my goal as Executive Director of the American Football Coaches Association. I am gratified that others think we have reached that goal.”

The National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) has presented the award on the show since 2002 to recognize an individual who has made exceptional contributions to the sport. The winner of the award annually “has been closely associated with college football as a player, coach, administrator, media personality or other person attendant to the game.”

“Quite frankly, Coach Teaff has been outstanding in several of the aforementioned areas in college football over several decades,” said the Maxwell Club’s Mark Wolpert, President of the NCFAA. “His service in promoting and improving college football over the years as the AFCA Executive Director alone would be enough to win this award. But he has also been a player, coach and athletic director and excelled in those roles. He literally has touched the lives of thousands of people in college football over the years.”

Previous winners of this NCFAA award are Darrell Royal (2002); Keith Jackson (2003), Vince Dooley (2004); Tom Osborne (2005); Chuck Neinas (2006); Frank Broyles (2007); Bobby Bowden (2008); LaVell Edwards (2009); Lee Corso (2010); Roy Kramer (2011); Ara Parseghian (2012); John Gagliardi (2013).

A member of the College Football Hall of Fame as a coach, Teaff was instrumental in bringing back Baylor football to prominence from 1972-92 and won two Southwest Conference championships as the head coach of the Bears and was named SWC Coach of the Year six times and National Coach of the Year twice. He later served as athletic director at Baylor. He is a former Texas high school, junior college and college football player and was a captain on all of those teams.

With the AFCA for the last two decades, Teaff has been a leading force whether it be in the area of football rules or at the forefront of the concussion issue or the development of coaches in the profession. The 12,000 members of the AFCA have appreciated his leadership greatly, and in 2006 Teaff was honored with the Amos Alonzo Stagg Award.

A noted motivational speaker, Teaff has authored six books. In all, he is a member of nine Halls of Fame – including McMurry’s Athletics Hall of Honor – and, most recently, claimed among his many honors, the Bud Selig Award ( given by the McClendon Foundation). It annually is presented to an individual who has been at the forefront of creating equal opportunities for minorities in athletics.

Press Contact

Gary Ellison